Ohio Communication Journal

The official publication of the Ohio Communication Association. The OCJ is published online annually in February beginning in 2017.

Welcome from the Editor

The Ohio Communication Journal publishes research from multiple perspectives, contexts, and methodologies within the discipline. In addition to furthering Ohio communication research, the OCJ represents scholars’ work from all over the United States. The editorial board features some of the top scholars throughout Ohio and beyond, including representatives from over 30 public and private institutions.
It is an honor to serve as Editor of the OCJ, and I look forward to reading more cutting edge research coming from this region!

Amber L. Ferris
Editor, Ohio Communication Journal

Editorial Board

Amber Ferris

Amber Ferris

Vice President & OCA Journal Editor

Amber Ferris (Ph.D., Kent State University) is an assistant professor of Communication at The University of Akron Wayne College. Ferris’ current research focuses on the effects of dependency with respect to social media and technology. The Journal Editor is a position that is appointed by the Executive Committee, and serves for a period of two years. The Vice President is an elected position that serves for two years and then moves into the President position for two years. Amber was elected in 2018.

Laura Russell | OCA

Laura Russell

Associate Journal Editor

Laura Russell (Ohio University) is an associate professor of Communication at Denison University. The Associate Journal Editor is a position that is appointed by the Executive Committee, serves for a period of two years, and then advances to the position of Journal Editor. Laura was appointed in 2016.

Jeff Kuznekoff

Associate Journal Editor

Jeff Kuznekoff (Ph.D. Ohio University) also holds a BA from Marist College and a MS from Illinois State University. His research interests include new communication technology and instructional communication. The Associate Journal Editor is a position that is appointed by the Executive Committee, serves for a period of two years, and then advances to the position of Journal Editor. Jeff was appointed in 2018.

Journal Review Board (2017-2018)

  • Theodore Avtgis, University of Akron
  • Aaron Bacue, Kent State University
  • Benjamin Bates, Ohio University
  • Christina Beck, Ohio University
  • Nicole Blau, Ohio University Lancaster
  • Nicholas Bowman, West Virginia University
  • Devika Chawla, Ohio University
  • Miki Crawford, Ohio University Southern
  • Rebecca Curnalia, Youngstown State University
  • Purba Das, Ohio University Southern
  • Suzy D’Enbeau, Kent State University
  • John Dowd, Bowling Green State University
  • Gretchen Dworznik, Kent State University
  • Jerry Feezel, Kent State University
  • Stacy Fitzpatrick, North Hennepin Community College
  • Lois Foreman-Wernet, Capital University
  • David Foster, Florida Southern College
  • Radhika Gajjala, Bowling Green State University
  • Catherine Goodall, Kent State University
  • Elizabeth Graham, Kent State University
  • Alina Haliliuc, Denison University
  • Lisa Hanasono, Bowling Green State University
  • Stephen Haas, University of Cincinnati
  • Erin Hollenbaugh, Kent State University at Stark
  • Angela Hosek, Ohio University
  • Heather Howley, University of Akron Wayne College
  • Pamela Kaylor, Ohio University Lancaster
  • Jeffrey Kuznekoff, Miami University of Ohio
  • Seungbum Lee, University of Akron
  • Jenna Lo Castro, Pennsylvania State University Fayette
  • Lisa Marshall, Muskingum University
  • Joseph Mazer, Clemson University
  • David McCoy, Ashland University
  • Kevin Meyer, Illinois State University
  • Galina Miazhevich, University of Leicester
  • Rita Ng, Ohio University Zanesville
  • Steve Phalen, Ohio University
  • James Ponder, Kent State University
  • Narissa Punyanunt-Carter, Texas Tech University
  • Nicole Reamer, University of Arkansas at Fort Smith
  • Carol Savery, Kent State University at Stark
  • Valerie Schrader, Pennsylvania State University Schulykill
  • Rehka Sharma, Kent State University
  • Matthew Smith, Radford University
  • Paul Sommer, Kent State University at Stark
  • Kathleen Stansberry, Cleveland State University
  • Shawn Starcher, Kent State University
  • David Strukel, Hiram College
  • Tang Tang, University of Akron
  • Candice Thomas-Maddox, Ohio University Lancaster
  • Charee Thompson, Ohio University
  • Lisa Waite, Kent State University at Stark
  • Thomas Wagner, Xavier University
  • Heather Walter, University of Akron